The Order of The Silver Sea-Lion

Vert, in pale three sea-lions passant argent.

The Order Of The Silver Sea-Lion is the martial award of the Crown Province of Østgarđr.

It was created by His Excellency Gui Avec Chival (Viceroy AS XLVI–LI) to recognize both martial prowess and the leadership and training of others in the province in those skills.

The motto for the order is “I Go Forth, So That Others Might Follow”.

The heraldic registration for the order’s name and badge were submitted in 2011 and registered in 2012, although the name was returned and then accepted after a rule change. (I’ve previously posted the submitted image and other details of these registrations.)

The list of recipients of the Silver Sea-Lion in the East Kingdom’s Order of Precedence is sadly incomplete; a more accurate roster is set forth below.

On November 5, 2011, at Season’s Beatings in Brokenbridge, it was awarded to its principal:
• Llewyllen ap Rhys.

On February 12, 2012, it was given to:
• Valgard Stonecleaver, for armored combat.

On April 27, during Viceregal court at Crown Tournament in Østgarđr, it was awarded to:
• Suuder Saran, for archery.

On September 7, 2013, at the Feast of John Barleycorn in Northpass, it was given to:
• John the Bear, for thrown weapons.

On January 7, 2017, at Twelfth Night in Valhalla in Brokenbridge, it was awarded to:
• Alexander MacLachlan, for fencing.

On September 9, 2017, at the Feast of John Barleycorn in Northpass, it was granted to:
• Conor O’Caellaigh, for archery.

[Update, Dec 1:] The online Order of Precedence has been updated with this information and I believe it now has a correct and complete list of recipients as of this date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *